ESA Prizes


Call for Nominations for ESA prizes 

  1. ESA Young Scholar Prize

Purpose This prize is to be awarded to one young scholar whose research has made a significant contribution to experimental methodology.  Contributions of this nature are rarely recognized by other means, though they are of great benefit to our community. In addition to recognizing exceptional achievement in research, the prize is intended to help advance the career of the young scholar, through for example furthering their promotion cases or their ability to obtain funding. The intent of this prize is to recognize a scholar who is still early in their career. 

This prize is accompanied with a cash award of $5,000 which may be used as income or to support research.

Eligibility To be eligible, a candidate must either: 

(a) be under the age of 40; ESA will consider nominations of individuals over the age of 40 who started their research career late, or have had career interruptions, which when taken into account, would qualify them for nomination, 

(b) hold an untenured position,


(c) Have completed their PhD at most 10 years previously

The winner of the 2024 ESA Young Scholar Prize is Severine Toussaert of Oxford University, for her work on metascience focusing on improving the practice of experimental economics.

  1. ESA Distinguished Service Award 

Purpose This award is intended to recognize an individual who has played an outsized role in ESA administration over their career. This award is given to one person every year, typically a former officer of ESA, such as a former President, Treasurer, Vice-President, Journal Editor or other officer who has made particularly valuable contributions to ESA. In exceptional circumstances, an individual who has not been an ESA officer or editor may receive the award. 

This award is based on contributions to the ESA organization rather than scientific achievement. This award is not accompanied by a monetary payment.

The winner of the 2024 Distinguished Service Award is Mark Isaac of Florida State University. Professor Isaac served as the treasurer of the ESA for over 20 years. 

  1. The ESA Prize for exceptional achievement 

Purpose This award is intended to recognize up to one researcher per year who has overcome unusually difficult obstacles to achieve success in their research. This may be because the individual is a member of an underprivileged group in either the country they are from or the country in which they are working. It may also be awarded to an individual who has a physical limitation, a difficult family circumstance, or has been adversely affected by political events. 

This prize is accompanied with a cash award of $5,000 which may be used as income or to support research. 

The 2024 winner of the ESA Prize for Exceptional Achievement is Bernd Irlenbusch of the University of Cologne, who has made major contributions in a number of areas of experimental economics, including labor economics and strategic behavior in games during an ongoing very productive career.


The selection of reward recipients is made by the Awards and Fellows Committee. The committee consists of the three regional Vice Presidents and two ESA Fellows chosen by the President. In the first year (2024) only, the committee consists of the three regional Vice-Presidents and two EC members chosen by the President. The inclusion of the three regional Vice-Presidents ensures geographical diversity of the selection committee. The committee will consider all nominations that have been submitted. 

Any member of the ESA may nominate an individual for one of the prizes. Nominations are accepted by completing a nomination form at

Nominations for a particular calendar year must be submitted to the committee by April 1st of that year. Members of the Awards and Fellows Committee may also nominate candidates. Once nominated, a candidate remains in the pool of nominees for 5 years, unless they become ineligible during that time period. The designation of an Award may not be revoked by ESA for any reason other than a violation of the ESA Ethics policy.

The information required includes the prize category, the name, position and email address of the nominee; his or her CV; and a nomination statement (maximum 500 words). 

No Award should be made if there is no nominee considered worthy. Prizes cannot be awarded posthumously.


The awards are to be announced and presented at the World Meetings in June or July. Each award is to be accompanied by a citation. The list of recipients will be posted on ESA’s website.