Permanent committees

Election Committee 2022

Solicits and ranks nominees; presents a proposed list and ranking to the Executive Committee; contacts candidates after EC input and approval of the final list.

  • Dan Friedman, Chair
  • Dorothea Kübler
  • Ernesto Reuben
  • Ted Turocy (ex-officio consultant as Vice President for Information)

Conference Committee

Selects organizers of future ESA events; selects ESA sessions at the ASSA meetings; allocates a budget for supporting meetings of the mentoring program and outreach workshops; actively promotes the organization of joint thematic sessions/events with other fields in economics.

  • Charles Noussair, President-Elect, Chair
  • Cary Deck, Treasurer
  • David Cooper, Vice President, North America
  • Nick Feltovich, Vice President, Asia/Pacific
  • Dorothea Kübler, Vice President, Europe

Data and Replicability Committee

Follows trends in publication of experimental papers; promotes the replication of published experiments; favors the dissemination of information about replications.

  • Ernesto Reuben, Chair
  • Ted Turocy, Vice President for Information (ex officio)
  • Andrej Svorencik, Historian (ex officio)
  • Eva Ranehill, Data Editor (ex officio)
  • Mariana Blanco
  • Seda Ertac
  • Lionel Page

Profession Facing Committee (Outreach committee in academia)

Helps integrate experimental economics with growing parts of economics and other social sciences; thinks about how to increase membership and activities in underrepresented regions.

  • Nagore Irriberi, Chair
  • Monica Capra
  • Juan Camilo Cardenas
  • Friederike Mengel
  • Agnieszka Tymula

Ad hoc committees

Ethics committee

Develops and finalizes the ESA Ethical Guidelines.

  • Catherine Eckel, Chair
  • David Cooper
  • Laura Gee
  • Ben Greiner
  • Andrej Svorencik

Public Facing Committee (Outreach committee outside academia)

Reaches out to the public: increases our presence on social medias; develops an ESA podcast, reviews and curates interesting testimonials from the past along with cutting-edge materials and interviews; builds a list of interested ESA members in each country that could be contact points for journalists and communicating this information to media outlets; organizes the circulation of information/papers on how experimental methods in the lab and the field can inform public policy-making.

  • Laura Gee, Chair
  • Monica Capra
  • Robert Slonim
  • John List
  • David Reiley