Junior faculty webinar series 2020


Following on from the cancellation of the World Meetings planned for New York in June 2020, ESA are presenting a virtual seminar series featuring junior faculty who submitted talks to the conference.

The virtual seminar series will run on Wednesdays starting from 10 June, at 7 AM PDT | 10 AM EDT | 3 PM London | 4 PM Central Europe | 10 PM Beijing | Midnight Melbourne.

Each installment is organised as a smaller version of a session from the conference.  There will be two speakers, presenting papers in a similar area, each speaking for about 20 minutes, followed by a discussant, who will provide some questions and comments of their own as well as those of other attendees.  The whole session will run one hour.

These sessions are an excellent opportunity to learn more about the latest work of the next generation of experimental economists.

The sessions are held via Zoom.  To register to receive a weekly reminder email with details on how to join, please click here.

The series is organised by (alphabetically) Billur Aksoy, Ian Chadd, Yan Chen, and Ted Turocy.  If you have any queries about the series, please contact Ted as ESA Vice President for Information at info@economicscience.org

The scheduled speakers and discussants are listed below.  The talk titles are clickable links to the paper (where one is ready, others are coming soon).

Missed one of the webinars? We're posting recordings of past webinars on our YouTube channel!

 

Wednesday 10 June

Kirby Nielsen (Caltech), "When choices are mistakes".  Discussant: Daniel Benjamin.

Paul Feldman (Johns Hopkins) "Revealing risky mistakes through revisions".  Discussant: P. J. Healy.

  

Wednesday 17 June

Jing Yu (Beijing Institute of Technology), "Leading by example in a public goods experiment with benefit heterogeneity". Discussant: Marie Claire Villeval.

Prithvijit Mukherjee (Utah State), "Can we talk our way to equity and efficiency?" Discussant: David Cooper.

 

Wednesday 24 June

Noemi Peter (Groningen), "Gender, willingness to compete and career choices along the whole ability distribution". Discussant: Laura Gee.

Helena Fornwagner (Regensburg), "Him or her? Choosing competition on behalf of someone else". Discussant: Ernesto Reuben

 

Wednesday 1 July

Stephanie Heger (East Anglia), "Altruism begets altriusm". Discussant: Jonathan Meer.

Mengxing Wei (Nankai), "The ABC of the gift exchange models: Theory and evidence". Discussant: Martin Dufwenberg.

 

Wednesday 8 July

Lisa Spantig (Essex), "Cash in hand and savings decisions."  Discussant: Laura Schechter.

Mira Fischer (WZB), "Two field experiments on self-selection, collaboration intensity, and team performance." Discussant: Roy Chen.

 

Wednesday 15 July

Valeria Burdea (Ludwig Maxmilian). "When does communication harm?"  Discussant: Marta Serra-Garcia.

Lian Xue (Wuhan), "Lie aversion, anonymity and social distance: Are people more willing to lie using a mobile phone?" Discussant: Agne Kajackaite.

 

Wednesday 22 July

Steve Heinke (Basel), "This time is different: On similarity and risk taking after experienced gains and losses".  Discussant: Alex Imas.

Tomáš Jagelka (Bonn), "Separating true preferences from noise and endogenous effort in observed decisions". Discussant: Robert Sugden.

 

Wednesday 29 July

Boon Han Koh (East Anglia). "Attribution biases, gender, and financial compensation."  Discussant: Christine Exley.

Shagata Mukherjee (Meghnad Desai Academy of Economics), "Are women really better borrowers in microfinance? Evidence from matrilineal and patrilineal societies in India."  Discussant: Dean Karlan.

 

Wednesday 5 August

Lu Dong (Nanjing Audit University), "Arms races and conflict: Experimental evidence." Discussant: Daniel Zizzo.

Simin He (Shanghai University of Finance), "Real-time monitoring in a public-goods game." Discussant: Ryan Oprea.

 

Wednesday 12 August

Prachi Jain (Loyola Marymount), "Imperfect monitoring and informal risk sharing: The role of social ties." Discussant: Ben D'Exelle.

Ailin Leng (Nanjing Audit University), "An experimental implementation of cooperative games." Discussant: Dan Friedman.

 

Wednesday 19 August

Margaret Samahita (University College Dublin), "Pessimism and overcommitment." Discussant: Severine Toussaert

Erhao Xie (Bank of Canada), "Monetary payoff and utility function in adaptive learning models." Discussant: Colin Camerer.

 

(All affiliations listed are for the 2020/21 academic year)